Meet Lauren Lynch

This week I’m introducing to you all a very special author, Lauren Lynch. She’s the author of The TimeDrifter series, a YA fantasy perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Harry Potter.

Fearing an end to his time with Anna, Brendan attempts to take matters into his own hands, leading a group of newfound friends on a desperate journey across two continents in an attempt to steal time. Join Anna and Brendan for a life-altering adventure across the Via Egnatia and into ancient Cappadocia in their final confrontation with evil.

Lauren Lynch has lived in nine of the United States, but currently calls a log cabin in North Carolina home, along with her husband, teenage son, two dogs, a cat, two goats and even the occasional bat.

1. Tell us a little about you and what you’re working on.

I’ve been a graphic designer for over 30 years and especially enjoy design work for writers (and do my own covers). I was initially a fine arts major and now that I’ve immersed myself in writing, I find that it is like painting with words. Even my writing tends to be very visual. It’s the way I’m wired. My current project is a contemporary fantasy, Restoration. (If you’d like to get updates on my latest book, plus sales and giveaways of my other books, subscribe to my biannual email newsletter at www.laurenlynch.com.)

You As A Reader

2. When did you first fall in love with books?

My parents were voracious readers and took me to the library frequently. I don’t remember a time when I wasn’t surrounded by books I love.

3. What’s your favorite book from your childhood?

It’s hard to pick one … I loved The Chronicles of Narnia, A Wrinkle in Time, The Hobbit, The Little House on the Prairie books …

4. Of the books you’ve read, which one changed you the most?

Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee books — probably Demon: A Memoir most — where I discovered that speculative fiction is not only very entertaining, but can also be very meaningful. They inspired me to take writing more seriously.

5. What’s the last book you read and your current favorite?

I recently read Just Dumb Enough, by the Marcher Lord authors (now Enclave Publishing). Seven authors took turns writing different chapters. They managed to create a seamless story that was not only funny, but also had an underlying message of faith. I loved the book and would enjoy being involved in a similar collaborative project!

6. If you could meet any author, alive or dead, who would it be?

I’d probably have to go with Tosca Lee. (… or Madeleine L’Engle)

You As A Writer

7. When did you first know you were a writer?

I’ve enjoyed writing since I could pick up a pen (actually, I would dictate poems to my mother before I knew how to write), but I didn’t really take the possibility of becoming a published author seriously until my early thirties.

8. Do you remember the first story you ever wrote? If so, what was it about?

I wrote a historical fiction novel that explored one of my ancestor’s and one of my husband’s ancestor’s histories. Long story short: One was an early Lutheran protestant in Germany persecuted by Catholics. The other was a Catholic in Poland, taken prisoner in WWII to Germany as slave labor. Both end up in America. While I love their combined stories, it might be a bit too personal and contentious to ever publish. But, maybe … one day …

9. What has been the most difficult part of your writing journey? The best part?

To be brutally honest, the social aspects! I think I might be part hermit. It’s not that I don’t like people, I really do love them and I’m a great conversationalist one-on-one, but in large groups I tend to I clam up and observe. I don’t really enjoy conventions like some writers do, but I do push myself out there on occasion. And editing. Yikes. No fun.

The best part? Being able to dream up a story and bring it to life … the creative aspects. I love the first draft. Love beginning new projects. Brainstorming.

10. Of all the writing advice you’ve received, what helped you the most?

Writing the kind of story that you want to read, no matter how unusual. If you don’t love your story, there is no point in writing it. There is a temptation to write for a perceived market (or whatever is trending at the moment), or to conform to certain formulas and methods. I’m not saying to go out there and break all the rules, but I’ve found joy in writing what I love instead of getting caught up in what might sell the most books. (This is also why I chose to self-publish and I enjoy all the creative freedom that comes with it.)

11. Tell us about your current project and any others you’re working on.

I recently wrote a short story based on my historical fantasy trilogy (The TimeDrifter Series) that will be included in the next Fellowship of Fantasy anthology, Mythical Doorways (to be released in Spring 2018). I’m also working on a new novel, Restoration, (most likely released in early 2019) that will be more mainstream than my previous books, but still include light fantasy elements. Also mulling on my back burner is a collection of short stories related to The TimeDrifter Series.

Fun Stuff About You

12. Besides writing and reading, what are some of your other interests?

My husband is a photographer and I sometimes tag along when he heads to various locations. I dabble in photography myself. In February, our work is going in a gallery in Winston-Salem, NC. I also enjoy backroads road trips … any sort of traveling. I love to explore new places. I can also be found in rustic antique shops and flea markets searching for hidden treasures.

13. If you could become an instant expert at any one thing, what would it be and why?

(Besides writing? Or marketing writing?!) It would be fun to be a world-renowned illustrator.

14. You’ve just won an all expenses paid trip to anywhere in the world. Where would you go?

I recently discovered a writer’s retreat in Ireland I’d love to go to. (And my husband and I are planning a trip to Iceland, Ireland and Scotland)

Final Thoughts

15. How can people connect with you?

Website: laurenlynch.com
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/4524432.Lauren_Lynch
Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/Lauren-Lynch/e/B00MAM3PM6
Twitter: twitter.com/LaurenRLynch
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/readlaurenlynch
Facebook: www.facebook.com/LaurenLynchWriting

16. Anything else you’d like to tell us?

If you’d like to review my books for Amazon, Goodreads, a book blog,
etc. contact me for a complimentary review copy at info@laurenlynch.com. Honest reviews are most appreciated!! If you’d like to receive updates on new releases, giveaways and more, sign up for newsletter at www.laurenlynch.com (you’ll receive about 2 emails per year). If you’ve read all the way down here, you deserve some sort of reward!

Thanks for letting us get to know you a bit better! I’m loving getting to know Anna and Brendan and I’m so excited I have three whole books to spend with them!

Interested in exploring the TimeDrifter series? You can find all of Lauren’s books on Amazon.

The Place Of Voices (TimeDrifter Series Book 1)

The Veil Of Smoke (TimeDrifter Series Book 2)

The Tower Of Refuge (TimeDrifter Series Book 3)

A Spark In The Wind (TimeDrifter Series Prequel)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s