Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen

This week I’m introducing Wendy C. Jorgensen, author of the riveting YA sci-fi novels Scattering Stars and Acceleration. Perfectly balanced between relational conflict and fascinating sci-fi exploration, with just a hint of teen angst, these books are perfect for fans of Melissa Landers’ Starflight and Alienated.

When sixteen-year-old Eve Hunter returns to her childhood home of Ridgway, Colorado, she discovers a tight-knit colony of scientists and their families led by her grandfather, Jarak. Ten years earlier, her mother drowned suspiciously in a nearby canyon, and Eve becomes convinced the townspeople are hiding something. By lineage, Eve belongs to the colony and despite her reservations, she feels drawn to the colonists—particularly one of them: Daniel Winter, an eerily familiar, intense boy whose determination to monitor her and all the colonists is more than a little disturbing.

After Jarak reveals her true heritage, Eve learns her return to Ridgway is not a coincidence. She’s a key piece in Jarak’s plan. As secrets are revealed, Eve becomes entangled in a deadly game—and time’s running out to master the rules. One wrong move could jeopardize the future of the planet.

Wendy C. Jorgensen grew up in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, and began writing in second grade, furiously recording her hopes and dreams in a denim-covered diary. Besides hanging out at the library, she loved soaking up the rays—while reading a book, of course. During her sophomore year of high school, Wendy’s family moved to Carson City, Nevada, and she thought her life had ended. The desert, sagebrush, and cowboys were a far cry from the ocean, palm trees, and surfers of Florida. Fortunately, within six months, the family relocated to Lake Tahoe, and her outlook improved dramatically.

Wendy started college at the University of Colorado in Boulder, followed by a year at the University of Nevada in Reno and two years at Brigham Young University, where she worked as a reporter and copy editor for The Daily Universe. A decision to take a short break from school turned into a twelve-year hiatus in Lake Tahoe. Following a two-year stint in the civil engineering program at California State University in Sacramento, Wendy returned to Colorado and graduated from CU with a degree in English Writing. It was a long, but valuable, educational journey.

After twenty years in Colorado, Wendy recently moved back to Northern Nevada, close enough to Lake Tahoe to enjoy the beautiful scenery but far enough away to escape the heavy snowfall. She lives with a wonderful husband who’s a financial guru, and a golden retriever who’s often mistaken for a sloth. Her two brainy and creative sons challenge her intellect and make her want to be smarter. Wendy hopes someday to journey to the stars.

1. Tell us a little about you and what you’re working on.

My name is Wendy C. Jorgensen, and I’m a young adult speculative fiction author. My favorite stories have always been about aliens, time travel, or genetic engineering. Although I’m not a huge fan of the fantasy genre, anything with a speculative twist will generally catch my interest. And if a dog happens to pop up in one of these stories, I’ll be hooked for sure! My first book, Scattering Stars, came out in April of 2016, and my second book, Acceleration, came out in May of 2017.

Currently I am working on the second book in the Scattering Stars trilogy, which should be out in 2018. It’s called Stars on Ruby Mountain, and it’s about a sixteen-year old girl who survives a terrible accident that kills her parents but can’t remember who she is or where she came from.

You As A Reader

2. When did you first fall in love with books?

I have loved reading as long as I can remember. In second grade, my teacher sent a note to my mom expressing concern about the Nancy Drew book I was reading: The Hidden Staircase. Lucky for me, my mom replied, “If she can read it, then let her read it.” In elementary school, I often took the city bus to the Ft. Lauderdale Public Library so I could stay there and read until my mom got off of work. It was my happy place!

3. What’s your favorite book from your childhood?

My favorite book as a child was Escape to Witch Mountain by Alexander Key, because it introduced me to two siblings from another planet. I’ve always been fascinated with space, and there were never enough books for young readers about aliens.

4. Of the books you’ve read, which one changed you the most?

Two authors have had a profound effect on me: C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. Of course, I like C. S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia, which I didn’t read until I was an adult, but I also love several of his nonfiction works. As for J. R. R. Tolkien, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings trilogy are just amazing, timeless stories. I even spent a semester studying Tolkien in college. Yep! It was awesome!

5. What’s the last book you read and your current favorite?

The last book I read was A Man Named Ove, because it was recommended to me. It was difficult for me to read because the subject matter hit too close to home—definitely made me cry—but the story has moments of greatness.

I am usually reading a fiction book and a nonfiction book simultaneously. My current favorite fiction book is The Leaving by Tara Altebrando, and my current favorite nonfiction is Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance.

6. If you could meet any author, alive or dead, who would it be?

Dean Koontz! Not only do I love his books, especially Strangers and Watchers, but I share his love for golden retrievers!

You As A Writer

7. When did you first know you were a writer?

I’ve been keeping journals since I was seven years old, and I always knew I’d write a book someday. However, it took many years for my dream to come true. So listen up anyone who’s reading this: Don’t give up!

8. Do you remember the first story you ever wrote? If so, what was it about?

I wrote a play when I was eleven or twelve, which my girl scout troop performed for our parents. The first short story I wrote was during my first year in college. It was about a unicorn who sacrificed his life for someone he loved. My teacher said the writing was good, but it was too “moralistic.”

9. What has been the most difficult part of your writing journey? The best part?

The most difficult part initially was finishing my first book. It took me two and a half years. Without a doubt, I am a turtle writer! What has turned out to be the most challenging part of writing books has been marketing. It’s a never-ending process that I struggle with constantly.

The best part? When I opened the box filled with print copies of my first book, I could hardly believe those books contained my words for all the world to see. Well, at least some of the world anyway.

10. Of all the writing advice you’ve received, what helped you the most?

The best writing advice I’ve received is simply to keep writing. I’ve taken tons of classes, listened to podcasts, and read countless articles on improving my craft. Most have been helpful, but the encouragement to continue has helped me the most.

11. Tell us about your current project and any others you’re working on.

Currently I am working on the second book in the Scattering Stars trilogy, which should be out in 2018. It’s called Stars on Ruby Mountain, and it’s about a sixteen-year old girl who survives a terrible accident that kills her parents but can’t remember who she is or where she came from.

The third book in the Scattering Stars trilogy takes place in Devil’s Tower in Wyoming, which I think is cool and mysterious—the perfect place for aliens to hang out. The working title is Falling Stars on Devil’s Tower.

I am also working on a nonfiction memoir about my mother and her thirteen children called Thirty Years to Alaska. I’ve been writing it for more than twenty years, and it’s had many incarnations. I’ve finally arrived at a point in my life where I believe I have the right voice to tell the story.

Fun Stuff About You

12. Besides writing and reading, what are some of your other interests?

I always tell people that I like to read, write, and run. Besides those three things, I enjoy cooking and spending time with my golden retriever. I don’t do crafts, paint, sew, play any instrument, or decorate my house. I hate cleaning or working in the yard, and I seriously can’t keep a cactus alive.

13. If you could become an instant expert at any one thing, what would it be and why?

I’d become a master storyteller, of course!

14. You’ve just won an all expenses paid trip to anywhere in the world. Where would you go?

My first thought is that I’d go to Scotland to find the Loch Ness Monster. However, I’ll probably get to do that someday (fingers crossed), so if someone else is paying, I’d take a trip to Australia and New Zealand.

Final Thoughts

15. How can people connect with you?

Website: www.wendycjorgensen.com
Facebook: @authorwendycjorgensen
Twitter: @WCJorgensen19
Instagram: wendycjorgensen

16. Anything else you’d like to tell us?

Thank you so much for interviewing me! Good luck with your own writing efforts!

Thanks for telling us a little bit about you! There’s so much to love about Eve and her story, I’m seriously fangirling over getting to read two more books!

Scattering Stars – Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Acceleration – Amazon / Barnes & Noble

2 thoughts on “Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen

    1. That’s why I do interviews. I love learning about the opinions and tastes of the authors who write interesting books. And Wendy certainly writes interesting and captivating books!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s