Meet K. M. Shea

First of all, I should announce that after today I will be taking a break from interviews for the summer. I’ve had a lot of new developments in the past couple weeks and I’m starting to get a little overwhelmed. So for the summer there won’t be any Wednesday posts, unless something crazy happens and I need to update y’all.

So, without further ado, let’s get to this last and most fabulous author interview!


This week I get to introduce to you a new favorite of mine, K. M. Shea. She’s written countless fairytale retellings, the King Arthur and Her Knights series, and her most recent book, Red Rope of Fate. I haven’t explored the King Arthur books yet, but the twists she puts on those fairytales are phenomenal! I read Beauty and the Beast twice in one sitting. So if fairytales are your thing, these books are a must!

Once upon a time Elle made a mistake. A small miscalculation sends her through the roof of an enchanted chateau. Stranded until her broken leg mends, Elle is unwillingly forced to rely on the good will of the sour chateau owner —the cursed Prince Severin.

Prince Severin—the commanding general and staunch supporter of his brother the crown prince—is cursed to look like a beast until a maiden falls in love with him. He has given up all hope of shattering the curse and has only disdain for Elle.

Unfortunately, the pair can’t seem to avoid each other thanks to the meddling of the chateau’s cursed servants. Eventually Elle’s playful manners and Severin’s hidden gentleness draw the pair together.

But not all love stories can end that easily. After all, Elle is not what she seems, and Severin’s life is placed in danger when hostilities flare between his brother and the monarchs of a neighboring country. When Elle risks everything to save Severin, will he be able to forgive her for her lies? Continue reading “Meet K. M. Shea”

Ivy on Character Description

Sorry for missing last week. Okay, no I’m not. I’m a busy muse. I got plot holes to fix, characters to motivate, people to inspire.

Besides, last week was a bit stressful for Moos since her latest TurtleWriters blog post ruffled a few feathers. Her focus was completely shot after that. So I resorted to giving her a shiny new idea and it worked a bit too well. She kind of exploded and now she has a 7 page, chapter by chapter outline, plus ideas for three more books in the series.

THE SERIES!

It was just a silly idea, Moos! You were supposed to say hi and give it a quick pat. Not kidnap it, give it a mate, and make babies!

(Deep breaths, Ivy. Deep breaths.)

Anyway, I’m back and once again being forced to impart my writerly knowledge unto the masses. Moos doesn’t give me enough chocolate for this.

So, character descriptions. Let’s get right to it. Continue reading “Ivy on Character Description”

Categories Ivy

Meet Juli D. Revezzo

This week we’re getting to know Juli D. Revezzo, author of the Celtic Stewards Chronicles, the Antique Magic series, and more. If you like classic myth and legend type fantasy with a bit of romance thrown in, you’ll love these books. The intricate exploration of classic folklore will feed your intellect while the men will have you swooning from page one.

Gwenevieve Macken’s well-ordered world falls into chaos as encroaching interlopers scheme to possess both her and her land. Although she’s been trained to spot the signs of inhuman evil in men, the amassing armies take on guises she never expected.

When a foreign guardian presents himself as her only option for salvation, Gwenevieve must make a choice between her desires, and fulfilling the mythic fate to which she was born. A forced marriage to a Tuatha dé Danann warrior isn’t part of her plan. Continue reading “Meet Juli D. Revezzo”

Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen

This week I’m introducing Wendy C. Jorgensen, author of the riveting YA sci-fi novels Scattering Stars and Acceleration. Perfectly balanced between relational conflict and fascinating sci-fi exploration, with just a hint of teen angst, these books are perfect for fans of Melissa Landers’ Starflight and Alienated.

When sixteen-year-old Eve Hunter returns to her childhood home of Ridgway, Colorado, she discovers a tight-knit colony of scientists and their families led by her grandfather, Jarak. Ten years earlier, her mother drowned suspiciously in a nearby canyon, and Eve becomes convinced the townspeople are hiding something. By lineage, Eve belongs to the colony and despite her reservations, she feels drawn to the colonists—particularly one of them: Daniel Winter, an eerily familiar, intense boy whose determination to monitor her and all the colonists is more than a little disturbing.

After Jarak reveals her true heritage, Eve learns her return to Ridgway is not a coincidence. She’s a key piece in Jarak’s plan. As secrets are revealed, Eve becomes entangled in a deadly game—and time’s running out to master the rules. One wrong move could jeopardize the future of the planet. Continue reading “Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen”