Blog

Ivy on Character Description

Sorry for missing last week. Okay, no I’m not. I’m a busy muse. I got plot holes to fix, characters to motivate, people to inspire.

Besides, last week was a bit stressful for Moos since her latest TurtleWriters blog post ruffled a few feathers. Her focus was completely shot after that. So I resorted to giving her a shiny new idea and it worked a bit too well. She kind of exploded and now she has a 7 page, chapter by chapter outline, plus ideas for three more books in the series.

THE SERIES!

It was just a silly idea, Moos! You were supposed to say hi and give it a quick pat. Not kidnap it, give it a mate, and make babies!

(Deep breaths, Ivy. Deep breaths.)

Anyway, I’m back and once again being forced to impart my writerly knowledge unto the masses. Moos doesn’t give me enough chocolate for this.

So, character descriptions. Let’s get right to it. Continue reading “Ivy on Character Description”

Categories Ivy

Meet Juli D. Revezzo

This week we’re getting to know Juli D. Revezzo, author of the Celtic Stewards Chronicles, the Antique Magic series, and more. If you like classic myth and legend type fantasy with a bit of romance thrown in, you’ll love these books. The intricate exploration of classic folklore will feed your intellect while the men will have you swooning from page one.

Gwenevieve Macken’s well-ordered world falls into chaos as encroaching interlopers scheme to possess both her and her land. Although she’s been trained to spot the signs of inhuman evil in men, the amassing armies take on guises she never expected.

When a foreign guardian presents himself as her only option for salvation, Gwenevieve must make a choice between her desires, and fulfilling the mythic fate to which she was born. A forced marriage to a Tuatha dé Danann warrior isn’t part of her plan. Continue reading “Meet Juli D. Revezzo”

Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen

This week I’m introducing Wendy C. Jorgensen, author of the riveting YA sci-fi novels Scattering Stars and Acceleration. Perfectly balanced between relational conflict and fascinating sci-fi exploration, with just a hint of teen angst, these books are perfect for fans of Melissa Landers’ Starflight and Alienated.

When sixteen-year-old Eve Hunter returns to her childhood home of Ridgway, Colorado, she discovers a tight-knit colony of scientists and their families led by her grandfather, Jarak. Ten years earlier, her mother drowned suspiciously in a nearby canyon, and Eve becomes convinced the townspeople are hiding something. By lineage, Eve belongs to the colony and despite her reservations, she feels drawn to the colonists—particularly one of them: Daniel Winter, an eerily familiar, intense boy whose determination to monitor her and all the colonists is more than a little disturbing.

After Jarak reveals her true heritage, Eve learns her return to Ridgway is not a coincidence. She’s a key piece in Jarak’s plan. As secrets are revealed, Eve becomes entangled in a deadly game—and time’s running out to master the rules. One wrong move could jeopardize the future of the planet. Continue reading “Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen”

Ivy introduces MoosEditorial (with a little help)

(For anyone unfamiliar with Ivy, here’s her introduction and an explanation of these posts.)

I mentioned last week that Moos is launching MoosEditorial soon.

I’m not gonna lie. I thought she’d have given up on it by now. She almost did a few times, actually. Imposter Syndrome is no joke, mortals. And she’s got it for one of the silliest reasons ever. Continue reading “Ivy introduces MoosEditorial (with a little help)”

Meet Moss Whelan

This week we’re getting to know Moss Whelan, author of the fantasy adventure Gray Hawk of Terrapin. Not only is this world just as magical and fascinating as Hogwarts and Narnia, but the main character, Mool, and all her imaginary friends will charm you in an instant.

Gray Hawk of Terrapin is a heart-wrenching Y/A fantasy by Moss Whelan that introduces Melanie (Mool) Fraser. Ever since her father’s death, Mool has been talking with an imaginary green lion named Inberl. When Mool s mysterious uncle gets sick, she and her mother take the train from Vancouver, Canada to the inner world of Terrapin, where Inberl is arrested because he s looking for Gray Hawk. Springing into action, Mool sets out to rescue Inberl. Mool’s know-it-all cousin, Olga, helps track down family friend Parshmander who might know how to save Inberl. They corner Parshmander at home, where they overhear mention of Gray Hawk, but the girls are captured and interrogated. Upon release, Mool feels success when she sees a secret map, finds a hidden bridge and crosses it with Olga. On the other side of the bridge, they find a secret city that keeps Terrapin at war. Prepare yourself for a wrenching journey laced with evil, chronicling histories of cruelty, kidnapping, and false imprisonment in search of meaning and justice. Continue reading “Meet Moss Whelan”

Ivy the pixie publicist

(For anyone unfamiliar with Ivy, here’s her introduction and an explanation of these posts.)

I think I’m beginning to understand what that “give them an inch and they’ll take a mile” phrase really means. I come in and save the blog from imminent disaster and what do I get for it? A new boss!

“Ivy, tell them about this. Ivy, explain that.”

Dang it, Moos, I’m a pixie! Not a puppet!

……..

Fine. I guess someone’s got to do it. Continue reading “Ivy the pixie publicist”

Meet J.E. Purrazzi

This week we’re getting to know speculative fiction author J.E. Purrazzi, whose works include the Malfunction trilogy and the paranormal thriller serial The Raventree Society. Beautifully written and intricately plotted, these books will suck you in from page one and make you practically tear the pages trying to find out what happens next.

When Menrva, a geneticist in the subterranean city of survivors known as Bunker, responds to a call for help from Cowl, her former best friend, and Bas, a renegade cyborg, she makes a vital mistake and places all three of them in danger. As they struggle to escape City guards, cyborg soldiers, desperate scavengers, and ravenous aliens, they find in each other something they never expected: family.

During a battle, an attacking cyborg manages to overcome her programming just long enough to deliver a cryptic message. The trio is forced to decide if they will risk death – or worse, capture – to seek out the truth about the City, or if they will fight only for themselves

This fast-paced, gritty first book of the Malfunction Trilogy introduces a future caught between destruction and oppression, where Menrva and her friends must decide if the ends justify the means. Continue reading “Meet J.E. Purrazzi”