Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen

This week I’m introducing Wendy C. Jorgensen, author of the riveting YA sci-fi novels Scattering Stars and Acceleration. Perfectly balanced between relational conflict and fascinating sci-fi exploration, with just a hint of teen angst, these books are perfect for fans of Melissa Landers’ Starflight and Alienated.

When sixteen-year-old Eve Hunter returns to her childhood home of Ridgway, Colorado, she discovers a tight-knit colony of scientists and their families led by her grandfather, Jarak. Ten years earlier, her mother drowned suspiciously in a nearby canyon, and Eve becomes convinced the townspeople are hiding something. By lineage, Eve belongs to the colony and despite her reservations, she feels drawn to the colonists—particularly one of them: Daniel Winter, an eerily familiar, intense boy whose determination to monitor her and all the colonists is more than a little disturbing.

After Jarak reveals her true heritage, Eve learns her return to Ridgway is not a coincidence. She’s a key piece in Jarak’s plan. As secrets are revealed, Eve becomes entangled in a deadly game—and time’s running out to master the rules. One wrong move could jeopardize the future of the planet. Continue reading “Meet Wendy C. Jorgensen”

Meet Moss Whelan

This week we’re getting to know Moss Whelan, author of the fantasy adventure Gray Hawk of Terrapin. Not only is this world just as magical and fascinating as Hogwarts and Narnia, but the main character, Mool, and all her imaginary friends will charm you in an instant.

Gray Hawk of Terrapin is a heart-wrenching Y/A fantasy by Moss Whelan that introduces Melanie (Mool) Fraser. Ever since her father’s death, Mool has been talking with an imaginary green lion named Inberl. When Mool s mysterious uncle gets sick, she and her mother take the train from Vancouver, Canada to the inner world of Terrapin, where Inberl is arrested because he s looking for Gray Hawk. Springing into action, Mool sets out to rescue Inberl. Mool’s know-it-all cousin, Olga, helps track down family friend Parshmander who might know how to save Inberl. They corner Parshmander at home, where they overhear mention of Gray Hawk, but the girls are captured and interrogated. Upon release, Mool feels success when she sees a secret map, finds a hidden bridge and crosses it with Olga. On the other side of the bridge, they find a secret city that keeps Terrapin at war. Prepare yourself for a wrenching journey laced with evil, chronicling histories of cruelty, kidnapping, and false imprisonment in search of meaning and justice. Continue reading “Meet Moss Whelan”

Meet J.E. Purrazzi

This week we’re getting to know speculative fiction author J.E. Purrazzi, whose works include the Malfunction trilogy and the paranormal thriller serial The Raventree Society. Beautifully written and intricately plotted, these books will suck you in from page one and make you practically tear the pages trying to find out what happens next.

When Menrva, a geneticist in the subterranean city of survivors known as Bunker, responds to a call for help from Cowl, her former best friend, and Bas, a renegade cyborg, she makes a vital mistake and places all three of them in danger. As they struggle to escape City guards, cyborg soldiers, desperate scavengers, and ravenous aliens, they find in each other something they never expected: family.

During a battle, an attacking cyborg manages to overcome her programming just long enough to deliver a cryptic message. The trio is forced to decide if they will risk death – or worse, capture – to seek out the truth about the City, or if they will fight only for themselves

This fast-paced, gritty first book of the Malfunction Trilogy introduces a future caught between destruction and oppression, where Menrva and her friends must decide if the ends justify the means. Continue reading “Meet J.E. Purrazzi”

Meet Adeleke Kayode

This week we’re getting to know Adeleke Kayode, author of the sci-fi Noble series and the fantasy Nether Chronicles series. If you’re looking for a fun, easy read, check them out.

Trent and his allies have left the safety of the kingdom of Taren and now journey into the Outland in search of the black key. The Outland is a place where scoundrels and rogues run amok, people battle to the death for sport, and even the seemingly harmless locals can’t be trusted not to slit your throat.

Trent, Jenko and Lily will need their wits about them if they are to survive. The crowned city they are from might as well be a different world compared to the Outland. The rules are different and ever changing. And if you can’t learn fast you won’t live long.

They might not be knights yet but they’re on a mission of great importance. While the secrets of the black key remain a mysterious to a select few. The power that it might hold is too danger to just let anyone get their hands on it.

Join Trent and his friends as he continues his journey and witness his tale unfold, these are his story, his chronicles. Continue reading “Meet Adeleke Kayode”

Meet Krystle Kwiatkowski

This week I’m introducing my best friend and Critique Partner, the one and only Krystle Kwiatkowski. Not only is she writing a paranormal TV show pilot that I can’t wait to binge watch, but she is also one of the authors for the anthology Winter Neverland.

Journey through a forever Christmas land and fight candy cane monsters. Open questionable gift boxes full of snow. Cozy up by the fireplace with a warm cup of Isabella’s Coffee. Walk with a teen through an unfamiliar world after he wishes he never met his best friend. Run through the forest with an English Princess and wonder what she is running from. Help a lost traveler find their way home in the snow … follow us to Winter Neverland! Continue reading “Meet Krystle Kwiatkowski”

Meet Katy Huth Jones

This week we’re getting to know Katy Huth Jones, author of the He Who Finds Mercy series, beginning with Mercy’s Prince, and many other fantasy novels. With dragons, monsters, magic, and more, fans of classic fantasy will love her books.

As second son of the King of Levathia, seventeen-year-old Valerian desires the quiet life of a scholarly monk. But when he fails to save his older brother in battle, Valerian must instead become crown prince.

While a traitorous knight schemes against him, Valerian meets Mercy, a pacifist Healer with whom he can speak mind-to-mind like the great dragons. Their bond emboldens Valerian to seek out the legendary dragons and ask for their help against the monsters who killed his brother. 

Can Valerian survive the traitor’s assassins long enough to find the dragons? And if he does, can he convince them to lay aside their hatred of humans and help him save the land from destruction? Continue reading “Meet Katy Huth Jones”

Meet Carissa Andrews

This week I’m introducing you all to Carissa Andrews, author of the riveting dystopian YA series, The Pendomus Chronicles. All three books; Pendomus, Polarities, and Revolutions, are available now. If you love action packed stories about strong, complicated characters fighting against impossible odds, you’ll love these books.

A secret hidden in plain sight. A devastating attack. And a world hanging in the balance.

There are a lot of things I wish I’d known earlier—but three top my “wow, she was naïve” list.

First—there are others on Pendomus.

Second—a prophecy is in motion & I hold the key to the survival of literally everything.

Third—I’m being hunted by a madman who is desperately trying to wipe me from existence.

So yeah, no pressure. Continue reading “Meet Carissa Andrews”